Events Archives

News, events, and reflections on urban experiments and social innovation

CIRM Lunch discussions at McGill University: March 21, 23, 24

On March 21, 23, and 24, hear from innovators from academic, private, public and non-profit sectors, all of whom are seeking to ensure that 21st-century urban development balances economic, social and environmental concerns. These sessions will be bilingual (FR/EN), with no simultaneous translation. March 21st, 10.00-11.30: Julian Agyeman, Professor of Urban and Environmental Policy and…

Read More

Cities Reducing Poverty: Bringing all voices to the table

BY: MEGAN WANLESS Poverty is a complex issue. It’s an issue that cannot be approached in isolation or solved by a select few – it effects everyone, is experienced by people in different ways, and involves a significant number of interrelated elements and stakeholders. We know this. We know that when working on complex problems,…

Read More

Winter Cities Shakeup 2017

Information courtesy of Michelle Ménard, Winter Cities Shake-up  Thrive, Prosper, Create and Have Fun! Please join us at the International Winter Cities Conference, February 16-18, 2017 in Edmonton, Canada. The Winter Cities Shake-Up is three days of thinking outside the box about how we do winter.  Innovators, leaders, researchers, creators and makers from around the world will…

Read More

Montreal’s Urban Sustainability Experience: May 27th

Interested in the transformational power of cities? Join us for Montreal’s Urban Sustainability Experience , a symposium hosted by McGill University, featuring Cities for People Curator and J.W. McConnell Family Foundation Program Director Jayne Engle delivering the keynote address. Details about the MUSE course here. Photo from Open City Projects.  

Read More

GSEF2016 Call for Proposals

Local Governments and Social Economy Stakeholders: Allies for the intelligent and sustainable development of cities SEPTEMBER 7–9, 2016 MONTRÉAL, CANADA What is GSEF? The Global Social Economy Forum, organized by the City of Montreal and the Chantier de l’économie sociale will bring together over 2,000 participants from every continent to discuss the theme of collaboration…

Read More

Webinar! Voices of New Economies: Opportunity for All

Date:  Mon, 9 Nov 2015 Time: 2:30pm Newfoundland, 2pm Atlantic, 1pm Eastern, 12pm Central, 11am Mountain, 10am Pacific Cost: Free! Register now. Across Canada and around the world, people are rising up to shape new economies.  Recognizing that the ecological, social and even financial costs of our current economic system are unsustainable, innovative leaders are…

Read More

Colloque à Montréal: Les arts et l’espace public (4 déc)

COLLOQUE: LES ARTS ET L’ESPACE PUBLIC – CRÉATION, DIFFUSION ET APPROPRIATION Créateurs, designers, producteurs, promoteurs d’événements culturels et gestionnaires d’espaces publics, venez discuter des particularités de l’espace public comme lieu de diffusion et des possibilités et défis à relever pour y réaliser des projets de création. Le colloque présentera également des exemples inspirants d’aménagements permettant…

Read More

Campus and the City

Calling all Campus City Builders! SFU Public Square, in partnership with RECODE, an initiative of the J.W. McConnell Family Foundation is hosting a day-long, national conversation on the role of colleges and universities in city-building. Designed by students from across Canada, this participatory, moving conference will bring together students, faculty and staff, city building leaders…

Read More

Webinar: The Role of Cities in Sustainable Consumption (20 Oct; also recorded)

West Coast Climate Forum’s next webinar: The Role of Cities in Sustainable Consumption: Making the Case for Local Action Tuesday, October 20, 9:30-11:00 am, PT   Register here:  http://bit.ly/Oct20webinar In this webinar, we return to the role of cities in advancing sustainable consumption and explore how municipal leaders can effectively frame the issue for successful local action. …

Read More

Workshop on evaluating change: Montreal, Oct 27-29

Evaluating Community Impact:  Capturing and Making Sense of Community Outcomes Interested in evaluating large-scale community change initiatives? The Tamarack Institute is hosting a three-day workshop in Montreal, October 27-29, From their website: “Moving the needles” on community-wide issues requires cross-sector coordination and an engaged community. There are countless community change initiatives working on a diversity…

Read More