• Global Social Economy Forum 2016: Call for proposals!
  • What do our cities need? Highlights from Oct 8 We Are Cities Day conversations
  • How can local governments accomodate the ever-growing sharing economy? New Roadmap from One Earth
  • Jayne Engle and Nik Luka on Montréal’s Green, Active and Healthy Neighborhoods Project    
  • What are Cities for People? Watch the intro video! 

Recent Stories


Bahar Orang, Gabriel Quigley and cheyanne turions For a period of one month, beginning on 27 February 2015, teaching assistants at the University of Toronto were on strike. Advocating for fairer funding packages, hundreds of students took to the streets of the city in an attempt to better their working and schooling conditions. Written collectively...
Read Story

From our Blog

GSEF2016 Call for Proposals

Local Governments and Social Economy Stakeholders: Allies for the intelligent and sustainable development of cities SEPTEMBER 7–9, 2016 MONTRÉAL, CANADA What is GSEF? The Global Social Economy Forum, organized by the City of Montreal and the Chantier de l'économie sociale will bring together over 2,000 participants from every continent to discuss the theme of collaboration...
Read More

We Are Cities Day: Highlights!

Did you participate in a roundtable or online conversation during We Are Cities Day? Wondering what key priorities and narratives emerged? Evergreen CityWorks shared a few highlights from all you engaged Canadians had to say! Visit the We Are Cities website for detailed recaps of last spring and summer’s roundtables. From Evergreen CityWorks: Thank you,...
Read More

Report: Local Governments and the Sharing Economy

How do local governments strategically engage with the Sharing Economy to foster more sustainable cities? While sharing has always been part of city life, there is an acceleration in the past few years of Sharing Economy activities from bike sharing to short-term rental accommodation to neighbourhood swaps to ride-sharing.  Some activities are disrupting industry sectors...
Read More

Webinar! Voices of New Economies: Opportunity for All

Date:  Mon, 9 Nov 2015 Time: 2:30pm Newfoundland, 2pm Atlantic, 1pm Eastern, 12pm Central, 11am Mountain, 10am Pacific Cost: Free! Register now. Across Canada and around the world, people are rising up to shape new economies.  Recognizing that the ecological, social and even financial costs of our current economic system are unsustainable, innovative leaders are...
Read More

Articles from SPACING

Weekly feature blogs produced by our partner, Spacing, the Canadian urbanist magazine

Investing in Cycling in Scarborough

This post by Marvin Macaraig, Ph.D., is part of Spacing’s partnership with the Toronto Cycling Think & Do Tank at the University of Toronto. Marvin is the Scarborough Cycles Project Coordinator at the Toronto Centre for Active Transportation, a project of Clean Air Partnership. Scarborough Cycles is funded by the Metcalf Foundation’s Cycle City program, […]

Read More

Porch Parade

Summer is the time to get outdoors, and in the same spirit as the Serpentine Gallery Pavilion in London’s Hyde Park, the City of Vancouver has once again closed Robson between Hornby and Howe Streets in front of the south steps of the Vancouver Art Gallery, to examine the notion of public space in the heart […]

Read More

Rolling Youth into Toronto’s Bicycle Renaissance

This post by Jeffrey Trieu is part of Spacing‘s partnership with the Toronto Cycling Think and Do Tank at the University of Toronto. Find out more about the think tank, and the series, here. With countless community events being hosted from May 25th to June 25th, the Greater Toronto and Hamilton Area is anticipating Bike […]

Read More

Our Partners

  • Musagetes